Pija Lindenbaum

Pija Lindenbaum was born and raised in Sundsvall, in the north of Sweden. She graduated from the Stockholm College of Arts, Crafts and Design in 1979 and has since then worked as an artist, designer and author. Pija Lindenbaum has created a long series of successful picture books: her first book, Else-Marie och småpapporna/ Else-Marie and the Seven Little Daddies, Boken om Bodil/Bodil, My Dog, Britten och prins Benny/Britt and Prince Benny

Pija received the Swedish Bookshop Assistants’ plaque ”Your book – our choice” in 1991 for Else-Marie och småpapporna, and the newspaper Expressen’s Heffaklump prize in 1991 for the same book. Twice, in 1993 and 1996, she has been nominated for the August prize for Över bäcken/Over the Brook (text by Lennart Hagerfors) and Britten and Prince Benny,respectively.

In 1993, Pija Lindenbaum was chosen as Illustrator of the Year at the children’s book fair in Bologna. She has been awarded the New York Times’ diploma for the best picture book for Boken om Bodil/Bodil, My Dog.

In 2000, Pija Lindenbaum won the August prize for the best book for children and young people with the book Gittan och gråvargarna/Bridget and the Grey Wolves. ”Intelligently and pluckily, Pija Lindenbaum describes how a small girl acquires great courage” (explanation by the August jury). In 2008 she was awarded both the Rabén & Sjögren Astrid Lindgren Prize and the Ottilia Adelborg Prize for all her picture books.

List of Publications

Text and illustrations:
Else-Marie och småpapporna/Else-Marie and the Seven Little Daddies 1990
Boken om Bodil/Bodil, My Dog 1991
Ä dä/It Is 1994
Min!/Mine! 1994
Nam-nam/Yum-Yum 1995
Ha den/Have It 1995
Britten och prins Benny/Britt and Prince Benny 1996
Starke Arvid/Arvid the Strongman 1997
Glossas café/Glossa’s Café 1998
Halli Hallå/Hallo Halloo 2000
Gittan och gråvargarna/Bridget and the Grey Wolves 2000
Gittan och fårskallarna/Bridget and the Numbskulls 2001
Gittan och älgbrorsorna/Bridget and the Elk Brothers 2003
När Åkes mamma glömde/When Åke’s Mum Forgot 2005
Siv sover vilse/Siv’s First Sleep-over 2009

Bra Börje/Louie (text by Barbro Lindgren) 1992
Över bäcken/Over the Brook (text by Lennart Hagerfors) 1993
Navel fram och prutt därbak/Tummy-buttons and Farts (text by Anna-Malin Karlsson) 1995
Mod, Matilda Markström/Courage, Matilda (text by Annika Holm) 1998
Matilda, den 13 december/Matilda on 13 December (text by Annika Holm) 1999
Stick, sa Matilda Markström/Push off, said Matilda (text by Annika Holm) 2000
Mirabell (text by Astrid Lindgren) 2002


Share this

  • BlogBlog