Nattens lekar

The Games of the Night

by Stig Dagerman

Nattens lekar is an invaluable collection of Stig Dagerman’s continuously popular short prose writings. The first part of this new edition consists of the seventeen short stories of the collection with the same name that the author himself put together in 1947.

Also included here are the short stories that were never published in book format during Dagerman’s life, as well as prose fragments that were drafts for larger, never completed book projects, among them the prologue Tusen år hos Gud, the beginning of the great novel about Carl Jonas Love Almqvist in exile that he was working on shortly before his death. 

A newly written foreword by one of today’s greatest masters of the short story, Irish author Colm Tóibín introduces Nattens lekar. The publication is done in cooperation with Stig Dagermansällskapet. 
“[Dagerman is] a master of the art of absence, a master of nuances of that which is missing and can’t be mentioned.” Colm Tóibín

Share this

  • BlogBlog