The 2016 Petrona Award

Det som inte dödar oss/The Girl in the Spider’s Web by David Lagercrantz
is among the titles shortlisted for the Petrona Award 2016 for ‘Best Scandi-
navian Crime Novel of the Year’. The winning novel will be announced on
May 21st, 2016.

This British award is open to crime fiction in translation, either written by a Scandinavian author or set in Scandinavia and published in the UK in the previous calendar year.The award will be the fourth one handed out since the Petrona Awards’ establishment in 2013. Previous winners are Liza Marklund (2013), Leif GW Persson (2014), and Yrsa Sigurdardóttir (2015).

The motivation of the jury reads:
“The late Stieg Larsson created the groundbreaking, two-fingers-to-society, bisexual anti-heroine Lisbeth Salander. When Larsson’s publishers commissioned a fourth book, they turned to David Lagercrantz, whose The Girl in the Spider’s Web often reads uncannily like Larsson’s own text. His real achievement is the subtle development of Salander’s character; she remains (in Lagercrantz’s hands) the most enigmatic and fascinating anti-heroine in fiction.”


The Girl on the Spider's Web UK edition

  • BlogBlog