The PO Enquist Literary Prize 2017 to Johannes Anyuru

The Per Olov Enquist Literary Prize 2017 is awarded the Swedish author Johannes Anyuru.

Photographer: Khim Efraimsson

The jury’s citation reads:
”With his latest novel, De kommer att drunkna i sina mödrars tårar (The Rabbit Yard), Johannes Anyuru, poet, essayist and novelist, takes yet another step by racing with a present totally running out of control and creating a scary-plausible future world. With lyrical realism as well as a convincing responsiveness to the possibilities and limitations of the dystopian genre, he has achieved a full-scale kaleidoscopic work, striving for loyalty towards your own beliefs, in the true spirit of Per Olov Enquist.”

Johannes Anyuru (b. 1979) made his debut in 2003 with the critically acclaimed collection of poems Det är bara gudarna som är nya (Only the Gods Are New). The literary breakthrough was made in 2012 with En storm kom från paradise (A Storm Blew in From Paradise), a novel based upon the life of Anyuru’s father, which was awarded and nominated for several prestigious literary prizes and translated into nine languages.

The Per Olov Enquist Literary Prize consists of 5000 Euros and is given to a Nordic author who according to the jury has great artistic value and the potential to reach an international audience but has not yet had his or her international break through. The jury consists of PO Enquist, Jakob Malling Lambert (Rosinante Denmark), Cathrine Bakke Bolin (Gyldendal Norway) and Håkan Bravinger (Norstedts).

The prize ceremony will as from this year be arranged in cooperation with Stockholm Literature, Saturday October 28.

Previous Winners:
2005 Juli Zeh
2006 Jonas Hassen Khemiri
2007 Trude Marstein
2008 Daniel Kehlmann
2009 Helle Helle
2010 Jonas T. Bengtsson
2011 Jón Kalman Stefánsson
2012 Mara Lee
2013 Ingvild H. Rishøi
2014 Dorthe Nors
2015 Karolina Ramqvist
2016 Lars-Petter Sveen

  • BlogBlog